Christy Fleener- Some of my Photography

Christy Fleener- Some of my Photography

This summer I volunteered to take photos at a local 4H Horse Show at the Palouse Empire Fairgrounds in Colfax. It was a great opportunity for me to practice taking photos of horses in action. I’m used to taking photos of my own horses, so it was a great experience to be able to practice on other peoples horses and different breeds. I practiced different shots of the horses and tried to get close ups and full body shots.
I had a lot of fun taking photos, I think I filled up an entire SD card and almost filled up the second one! I used trial and error and came up with lots of shots that I really liked! The weather was also perfect for the photos. It was overcast without rain, so I did not have to worry about any shadows.

Overall, I was really pleased with the photos. I had a few 4Hers who asked for CD’s after I posted them on Facebook.
I would really like to continue taking photos at horse events in the future. At many shows there is always a photographer taking photographs of the competitors. It would be a fun way to make some money! I also enjoyed capturing the smiles of many competitors. Its a great feeling to know that you captured their winning ride!

Here is a collage of some of my favorite photos from the show! I really like the close ups of the horses. You can see how each horse moves a little bit different. I also love the color contrasts I was able to capture. It was a perfect day to capture these photos! On the full body shot of the bay horse, I really like how I was able to capture its trotting movement. I was able to show its fluid movement in the shot!

One response to “Christy Fleener- Some of my Photography

  1. I do love that great filtered quality of light we seem to get up here in the Palouse so many days. That horse in the upper right corner has a unusual coloring, doesn’t he? I went through a horse phase (don’t we all?) but don’t remember much of the horse technicals. Very well taken photographs 🙂

Leave a Reply

