first blog post

20110608_gg_mk-cave_007b1-700x460

I am doing my first blog post on Mike Kelley. He is an American artist who was born in Michigan and went to University Of Michigan. After attending college he moved to Los Angeles to attend California Institute of Arts to get his Master of Fine Arts. His work involved found objects, textile banners, drawings, assemblage, collage, performance, and video.
The main piece I looked at was Exploded Fortress of Solitude which Kelley prepared in 2011 in London. This piece’s idea started with Kelley’s The Kandors Series, which Kelley initiated in 1999. The Kandors sculpture is of Superman’s birthplace with is Kandor. In the story of Superman the city of Kandor was shrunk and bottled by a villain, and the city was later rescued by Superman and protected under a bell jar in his sanctuary, the Fortress of Solitude. Kelley was so inspired by this that he decided to make 20 diverse examples of the sci-fi city. The fortress of Solitude looks like bunker in the ruins. The centerpiece of Kandor is dark boulders and slabs forming a cave.
I found this piece very mysterious and interesting. Honestly for me, I don’t watch Superman so when I first looked into Kelley’s piece I had no clue what it was referencing. I thought maybe some type of jail because it was so mysterious and scary. I enjoyed his background on the piece and it really explained what he was going for. He is a very creative man and it definitely shows in this piece.
Mike Kelley unfortunately died at the age of 57 last year due to suicide.

One response to “first blog post

  1. I’m not too knowledgeable on Superman’s past either…but I do love work that explores imaginary environments and worlds. I also love being able to follow an artists’ work from inspiration to something more elevated, that, regardless of the viewer’s familiarity with the inspiration, can provoke feel a strong emotion-in your case, a sense of mystery and fear.

Leave a Reply

